Multiple Teams · Wenonah Girls No. 1 team in ASWA basketball 5A rankings

CLASS 5A Girls
1. Wenonah (17-1)
2. Faith Academy (14-5)
3. Pleasant Grove (16-3)
4. Charles Henderson (12-3)
5. Central-Tuscaloosa (20-3)
6. Sylacauga (16-2)
7. Anniston (12-5)
8. Lawrence County (14-5)
9. Madison County (15-5)
10. Brewbaker Tech (10-8)

There were eight changes among No. 1 teams in the Alabama Sports Writers Association basketball rankings, including five in the boys poll and three among girls teams.

Class 7A McGill-Toolen (17-3) took over the top spot that was previously held by Mountain Brook in the boys poll. Also earning the No. 1 spot were Class 5A Faith Academy (22-1) replacing Ramsay, Class 3A Holly Pond (16-3) replacing Midfield, Class 2A Luverne (13-2) replacing Cold Springs and Class 1A Keith (11-8) replacing Sunshine.

Staying at No. 1 in the boys rankings were Class 6A Lee-Huntsville, Class 4A Cherokee County, and AISA Restoration.

In the girls poll, Class 7A top-ranked Huntsville (20-1) has won 17 straight games since a loss at No. 2 and previously No. 1 Hoover on Nov. 22. The Panthers, the only state team among the MaxPreps national computer rankings top 100 at No. 67, have the top two senior players on the A-List in Shaquera Wade and Ta’Naisha Hill.

Deshler (16-2) replaced Straughn at the top in Class 4A while Samson (17-2) is the new Class 2A No. 1 replacing Red Bay.

Retaining the top ranking among girls teams are Class 6A Homewood, Class 5A Wenonah (nationally ranked No. 140) , Class 3A Lauderdale County (nationally ranked No. 132), Class 1A Brantley and AISA Glenwood.

Lauderdale County (23-0) has won 68 straight games, dating back to the final game of the 2012-2013 season, and also won three straight championships. Five more wins and the Tigers will break the AHSAA girls state record for wins, eclipsing 72 straight by Athens from 2002-2003.

The AHSAA boys state record for consecutive wins is 73 by former Selma school A.G. Parrish from 1943-1947.

The girls national record for consecutive wins is 218 by Baskin, La., from 1947-1953.

Complete article