Multiple Teams · ASWA All-State Teams

Players from state championship teams received plenty of recognition in the Alabama Sports Writers Association All-State girls basketball team.

Class 5A champion Wenonah and Class 3A winner Lauderdale County, considered by many as the top two girls teams in the state, each placed three players on the team. There were 21 players selected from championship teams.

The ASWA Basketball Committee selected five players on each of three teams and honorable mention in each of eight classifications.

First team
Rachael Childress, Lawrence County, Jr., G, 5-10
Shawntayla Harris, Central-Tuscaloosa, Sr., F-C, 6-2
Bianca Jackson, Brewbaker Tech, So., G, 5-10
Kaitlyn Rodgers, Wenonah, Jr., F-C, 6-2
Unique Thompson, Faith Academy, So., C, 6-2

Second team
India Blakely, Charles Henderson, Jr., G, 5-7
Frenicka Craig, Vigor, Sr., G, 5-6
Tierra Dark, Sylacauga, So., G, 5-6
Lakashia Hill, Eufaula, Jr., F, 6-1
Jayla Morrow, Wenonah, So., PG, 5-7

Third team
Madison Baggett, Madison Co., Jr., PG, 5-6
Ashley Dunstan, Russellville, Sr., C, 6-1
Alexus Dye, Wenonah, So., F-C, 6-0
Michaia Fluellen, Brewbaker Tech, Jr., F, 5-11
Tyesha Haynes, Calera, Jr., PG, 5-6

RELATED: The ASWA boys All-State team

Wenonah’s Kaitlyn Rodgers was named Class 5A first team while Jayla Morrow earned second team and Alexus Dye was third team.

Class 3A Lauderdale County and Class 7A champion Jeff Davis were the only teams to place two players on the first team. Lauderdale County sisters Emma and Ivy Wallen are Class 3A first team while Allie Craig Cruce was selected to the second team.

Jeff Davis’ Jasmine Walker and Ahyiona Vason were both selected Class 7A first team.

Lauderdale County junior Ivy Wallen along with AISA seniors Kasey Grant of Lakeside and Taylor McNeil of Evangel Christian are four-time selections to the team.

AISA Lakeside’s Grant, Class 6A Blount junior Cierra Johnson and Class 1A Brantley senior Amanhi Upshaw are the only players selected to the first team each of the past three seasons.

Other three-time selections include Lawrence County’s Rachel Childress — twice as a first-teamer — Jeff Davis’ Walker, Huntsville’s Shaquera Wade, Faith Academy’s Emani Mhoon, Charles Henderson’s India Blakely, Calera’s Tyesha Haynes, Daleville’s La’Tia Fils-Aime’, Mars Hill Bible’s Mary Brooke Willis, Elba’s A’Jaspin Whitfield and Keith’s Harriet Winchester. Complete article